STATE OF TEXAS

GILMER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT \(\lambda\)

COUNTY OF UPSHUR λ

The Board of Trustees of Gilmer Independent School District met in regular session on Monday, March 21, 2016, at 6:00 PM at the Gilmer ISD Administration Building, 500 S. Trinity, Gilmer, Texas.

Board members present:

Members absent:

Todd Tefteller

Gloria King

Diedra Camp (left at 6:35 p.m.)

λ.

Mark Skinner

Clayton Tefteller

Kenny Southwell

Jeff Rash, presiding

Also present were Rick Albritton, Judy Moore, administrators and interested citizens

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Rash at 6:09 PM

INVOCATION: Mr. Southwell

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Mr. Skinner

EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED): The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 on March 21, 2016, at 6:11 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 7:39 p.m., March 21, 2016, for consideration of the following:

• Superintendent Evaluation and contract extension

PUBLIC COMMENTS/AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION: None

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORTS:

- A. Regional staff development in August
- B. Maintenance/Transportation update

CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:

- A. Minutes of the February 15, 2016 meeting of the Board
- B. Financial and tax collection reports
- C. Budget amendments
- D. Student transfer requests for school year 2015-2016
- E. Certify the Superintendent for the Regional Advisory Council
- F. Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification, 2016-2017
- G. Out of state trip for the GJHS band
- H. Election agreements for the GISD School Trustee Election on May 7, 2016

Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Skinner that the Board approve consent agenda items "A through H" by general consent action as recommended. (All item information on file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

REGULAR AGENDA ITEMS:

SCHOOL CALENDAR FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2016-2017: Motion was made by Mr. Todd Tefteller and seconded by Mr. Skinner that the Board approve the school calendar for school year 2016-2017 as presented by the Superintendent. (On file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

CONSIDER MAINTENANCE TRUCK: Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Todd Tefteller that the Board approve the purchase of a 2012 Chevrolet pickup from Dodd Motor Company for a price of \$17,950 as recommended by the Superintendent. (On file) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

RENEWAL OF TASB RISK MANAGEMENT FUND POLICY: Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Southwell that the Board approve using TASB Risk Management Fund for the District's property/casualty insurance for 2016-2017. The policy cost is \$88,241. (On file)

STAFFING REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2015-2016 and 2016-2017

EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED): The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 and 551.072 on Monday, March 21, 2016, at 8:05 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 9:29 p.m., March 21, 2016, for consideration of the following:

- Superintendent evaluation and contract extension
- Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, termination of probationary contracts, contract extensions)
- Term and professional support contract extensions
- Consider land

ACTION FOLLOWING CLOSED SESSION:

- Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Clayton Tefteller to approve the recommendation of the Superintendent for contract extension recommendations of term and professional support contracts for school year 2016-2017. (Attached) Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.
- Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Skinner to approve the recommendation to employ Jason Thomas, athletic trainer, and Stephanie Daughtery, teacher, for school year 2016-2017. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.
- Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Todd Tefteller so accept the resignation of Debra Holder. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Southwell to adjourn the meeting at 9:32 p.m. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes.

By:			
-	Jeff Rash, Board President		Gloria King, Secretary

Term Contract Recommendations for School Year 2016-2017

LastName	FirstName
BENNETT	WILLIAM
KNUTSON	KARA
BRADSHAW	MICHAEL
FREDERICK	KAREN
ERICKSON	LEAH
GILBERT	SUSAN
HARREL	DOTTIE
RICE	MELISSA
ECHOLS	APRIL
YORK	STEPHEN
WALL	DELINDA
NOLAN	MARY
MASSEY	BUFFY
JOHNSON	MICHELLE
TEVEBAUGH	NANCY
THOMAS	DIANE
ALBRITTON	ABIGAIL
RENEAU	VANESSA
WOODS	CHANDRA
WISE	PENNY
TRAYLOR	KATHRYN
DESPAIN	MARY
MAULDIN	MINDY
MEADOR	NANCY
THREADGILL	WANDA
PARKER	CYNTHIA
RICHARDSON	MARY

LastName	FirstName	LastName	FirstName
ADKINSON	CARLA	GLAZE	SANDRA
ARMSTRONG	REBECCA	GOMEZ	MARIA
BAKER	NINA	GRAY	ERIC
BARR	TODD	GREEN	RACHAEL
BEAN	DEVON	GUNTER	DUSTIN
BENNETT	WILLIAM	HARREL	DOTTIE
BILL	SHEILA	HARRISON	CARLA
BISHOP	SHEILA	HASCHKE	GAIL
BOGUE	KIMBERLY	HEFLIN	SUZANNE
BOWMAN	MALLORY	HENSON	NEDRA
BOYKINS	CECELIA	HOFFPAUIR	JESSICA
BRADSHAW	MICHAEL	HRELJA	ANGIE
BRANCH	EMILY	HUME	CARA
BREVARD	PATTI	JOHNSON	OLAN
BROADWELL	DIANE	JOHNSON	ROCHELL
CARPENTER	PAUL	JONES	ANGELA
CLAIR	JAMIE	JONES	GAZETTE
CLEVELAND	VICTORIA	KAUNITZ	TRISHA
COLE	TRACI	KNABENSHUE	ERIN
COLLIE	MARY	KNABENSHUE	JAMES
СООК	ELIZABETH	KNUTSON	KARA
CREWS	STACY	LANDER	SHELLEY
CUNNINGHAM	RUSSELL	LANE	KERRY
CURREY	CATHRYN	LASTER	SUSAN
DAVIDSON	VICKI	LEGAN	AMBER
DAVIS	CHRISTINE	LINDSEY	KRISTI
DAVIS	MARIE	LODEN	LISA
DAVIS	MARTHA	LOW	JACKIE
DAY	BELINDA	LOW	JAMIE
DEAN	CHRISTIE	LOWREY	GREG
DEAN	MARY	MASSEY	VICKI
DESPAIN	MARY	MAULDIN	MINDY
ECHOLS	APRIL	MCKENZIE	KARI
EDWARDS	LYNZI	MCMAHON	DIANA
EDWARDS	THOMAS	METZEL	ROBERT
FENTON	RICHARD	MOORE	ALLISON
FIELDS	JENNIFER	MOORE	LACY
FREDERICK	KAREN	MORRIS	LAURA
FRY	TAMRA	MURRY	KYLIE
GAGE	TOBEY	O NEAL	CASSY
GILBERT	SUSAN	PARKER	CYNTHIA

LastName	FirstName
PATE	JAMES
PATRICK	JOEL
PAYNE	DENNIS
PINTO	LEAH
POTTER	KATHRYN
RASH	DINA
RAY	LISA
RENEAU	VANESSA
RICE	MELISSA
RICHARDSON	MARY
ROBINSON	CODY
ROBINSON	STEPHANIE
ROSS	ANGELA
RUESING	MEMORI
SHIRLEY	KAREN
SIMPSON	AMANDA
SMITH	LISA
SMITH	TINA
SMITH-CREGLER	CAROL
SOUTHWELL	SANDRA
TATE	MARKEITHLON
THOMAS	CHARLES
THOMPSON	SARAH
TRAYLOR	KATHRYN
TRAYLOR	KURT
TRIMBLE	RACHEL
TROELL	MELISSA
TURNER	SARAH
TURNER	SHERRY
WATSON	AMBER
WILLIAMS	CAROLYN
WILSON	FELISHA
WILSON	NIKI
WISE	PENNY
WITT	CHRISTOPHER
WITT	SUE
WOODS	CHANDRA
YOUNG	AMANDA
ZABANEH	IBRAHIM